Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Lao Stebbing (Russell) thread, by username truthonly
02-07-2017, 01:53 PM (This post was last modified: 02-07-2017 02:01 PM by truthonly.)
Music The Lao Stebbing (Russell) thread, by username truthonly
----
NEW YORK TIMES, May 20, 1963:
WALTER RUSSELL IS DEAD AT 92; Self-Taught Artist and Educator.

Walter Russell, a self-taught painter, sculptor, musician, educator and mystical scientist, died yesterday on his 92nd birthday at ***Swannanoa, his estate near Waynesboro, Va. The word of his death reached associates here.

At his death Mr. Russell was a director of the University of Science and Philosophy, a correspondence school that he founded on his Blue Ridge estate in 1949. The institution has enrolled students from most of the English-speaking countries of the world.

Mr. Russell had no great regard for formal learning. He expressed gratitude for not having had any formal education since the age of 10.

On leaving school he became a clerk in a dry-goods store in his native Boston. At 13 he became a church organist; he taught and even composed for the organ, though he never learned to read music.

After several years abroad, Mr. Russell returned home in 1897 to join Collier's magazine as art editor. Between 1901 and 1904 he wrote a series of children's books.

Early in the century, Mr. Russell established a studio in New York. He attained prominence as a portraitist and was commissioned to paint the children of President Theodore Roosevelt.

Mr. Russell was the first president of the Society of Arts and Sciences, which he and Thomas J. Watson founded in 1921. He was also the first president of the New York Skating Club, which he formed in 1916.

In the nineteen-twenties Mr. Russell shifted his emphasis from painting to sculpture. He fashioned busts and heads of Theodore Roosevelt, Thomas Alva Edison, Franklin D. Roosevelt and General of the Army Douglas MacArthur.